Hyperion CDA 66730 Cover
In stock


PURCELL: Complete Secular Solo Songs volume 3

Hyperion CDA 66730

She loves and she confesses : Amintas, to my grief : Corinna is divinely fair : Amintor, heedless of his flocks : He himself courts : No, to what purpose : Sylvia, 'tis true : Lovely Albina : Spite of the godhead : If music be the food (third version) : Phillis, I can ne'er forgive it : Bacchus is a pow'r From silent shades : Let formal lovers : I came, I saw : Who can behold Florella's charms : Cupid, the slyest rogue : If pray'rs and tears : In Cloris all soft charms : Let us, kind Lesbia : Love is now become a trade : Ask me to love no more : O solitude : Olinda in the shades Pious Celinda : When Strephon found : The fatal hour : Sawney is a bonny lad : Young Thirsis' fate

  • sopranosBarbara Bonney, Susan Gritton
  • countertenorJames Bowman
  • tenorsRogers Covey-Crump, Charles Daniels
  • bassMichael George
  • orchestraThe King's Consort
  • director, organ, harpsichordRobert King